Passionate.
Qualified.
Loyal.

Elect Matthew Conway for National Council


My goal is simple.

Message to Quebec members of the Conservative Party of Canada – Parti conservateur du Canada and the delegates who will vote for our three (3) representatives on National Council.

Whether as an activist and volunteer, as a “staffer” for 10 years or as a candidate in 2011, I have always fought for our party.

Even though I retired as a “staffer” for family reasons, I still have a passion for our cause and our leader.

My daughter, Gillianne, and I

It is with this in mind that I am running for one of the three (3) Quebec spots on National Council. I want to continue working for our cause, to put the knowledge I have acquired over the years at your service and to serve our cause.

My goal is simple: to vigorously represent the members and the interests of Quebec within the party and to work with the Quebec team in order to send more of our extraordinary candidates to the House of Commons after the next campaign, under the leadership of the next Prime Minister of Canada, Erin O’Toole.

We would all like to elect 78 MPs in Quebec. Maybe one day, but in the short term, our chances of growing the Quebec team in Ottawa go through the 418, the 819 and the 450. Being a former candidate in the 514, I will always have a bit of hope for Montreal 😉

Our EDAs are vital to support our candidates. I promise to be your voice within the party. Without our members and volunteers, there is no party. No matter where you are in Quebec, I will be your voice.

Those who know me know that I am passionate about and work hard for our cause.

For those who don’t know me.

Yes my name is Matthew Conway and yes it is an English first and last name. I am proud of my roots. I am a Francophone. My mother’s family, the Landrevilles and the Limoges have been in Quebec for several centuries. I am also proud of my Irish and British roots.

I went to French schools (including university) except for CÉGEP (I wanted a challenge). French is my mother tongue. It was only around the age of 5-6 that I started speaking full sentences in English. A big accent for several years.

I’m bilingual. I have studied and worked in both languages.

All that to say that whatever your name, your roots or your riding, I will be there for you.

I hope that I can count on your support during our virtual convention from March 18 to 20.

In the meantime, I look forward to discussing with you!

Endorsements

He’s a team guy and he’s got the party’s logo tattooed on his heart.

Senator Claude Carignan, P.C.
Senator Claude Carignan, P.C.

“It is with great pleasure that I endorse Matthew Conway’s candidacy for the Conservative Party of Canada‘s National Council. I have known Matthew for several years and even had the opportunity to hire him as a political advisor and researcher while I was Leader of the Government in the Senate.

Highly efficient and keenly intelligent, Matthew is a very loyal person who can be counted on with complete confidence. He’s a team guy and he’s got the party’s logo tattooed on his heart.”

— Senator Claude Carignan, P.C.


“He will be an excellent member of National Council.”

Pierre Paul-Hus, Member of Parliament, 
Charlesbourg-Haute-Saint-Charles
Pierre Paul-Hus, Member of Parliament, 
Charlesbourg-Haute-Saint-Charles

“I have known Matthew for over a decade and we had the honour of both being candidates in the 2011 general election. Matthew is committed to our party.

He has touched many facets of political operations, having also served as a political advisor in the Office of the Leader of Canada’s Conservatives where he was able to stand out through his advice. He will be an excellent member of National Council.”

— Pierre Paul-Hus, Member of Parliament, Charlesbourg-Haute-Saint-Charles


“I support Matthew wholeheartedly.”

Bernard Généreux, Member of Parliament,
Montmagny-L’Islet-Kamouraska-Rivière-du-Loup
Bernard Généreux, Member of Parliament,
Montmagny-L’Islet-Kamouraska-Rivière-du-Loup

“Knowing Matthew for many years and having worked with him when he was on the Hill, there is no doubt in my mind that he will tackle his responsibilities with rigour and commitment.

I support him wholeheartedly not only for our great Canadian Conservative family but also for us in Quebec, which he will proudly represent.”

— Bernard Généreux, Member of Parliament,
Montmagny-L’Islet-Kamouraska-Rivière-du-Loup


I am proud and happy to support Matthew’s candidacy for National Council.

Patricia Morrissette, Candidate, Rivière-du-Nord
Patricia Morrissette, Candidate, Rivière-du-Nord

“I had the pleasure of meeting Matthew during the leadership race. He is committed and has been involved in our party for a long time. He knows it well and has its best interests at heart. He is generous with his time and always available. He’s a good guy—a man who combines head and heart!

He will be a great addition to National Council. He is determined and a go-getter—essential qualities for our party.”

— Patricia Morrissette, Candidate, Rivière-du-Nord


I have […] always known him to possess true conservative principles.

Senator Leo Housakos
Senator Leo Housakos

“I have known Matthew for more than 15 years and have always known him to possess true conservative principles. A proud Quebecer and Canadian, Matthew has served our country, our province and our movement brilliantly, in multiple capacities.

I am proud to support his candidacy to continue that service and represent Quebec as a member of National Council.”

— Senator Leo Housakos


We will be lucky to count on Matthew’s contribution to our party.

Jean-Martin Masse
Jean-Martin Masse, President, Joliette Conservative EDA & our Joliette candidate (2019)

“Matthew and I were colleagues for a few years. I am pleased to support him for a position on the Conservative Party of Canada’s National Council. Matthew is a proud Conservative and a proud Quebecer. He does not count his hours and will bring energy and creativity to our National Council.

I am sure that he will resolutely represent the interests of Quebec members while forging the necessary alliances with his colleagues. We will be lucky to count on Matthew’s contribution to our party.”

— Jean-Martin Masse, President, Joliette Conservative EDA & our Joliette Candidate (2019)

About Matthew

Political Involvement

Both a native and current resident of Montreal, I am fluently bilingual (French and English) with French being my mother tongue. I have also been highly active in Quebec politics in the Action démocratique du Québec (ADQ) on top of my years helping and volunteering for the Conservative Party of Canada.

Academic Distinctions

I hold a Bachelor of Law from the Université du Québec à Montréal (UQÀM) along with a degree in Paralegal Technology from O’Sullivan College in Montreal where I received the Governor General’s Academic Medal for academic excellence in 2005.

My Decade As a Staffer

In my 10 years as a staffer, I have advised several Ministers, including the Honourable Caroline Mulroney, Honourable Tony Clement, Honourable James Moore, Honourable Jean-Pierre Blackburn, and the Honourable Senator Claude Carignan.

Years in Ottawa

During my time in Ottawa, I served as Press Secretary to the President of the Treasury Board, Tony Clement, handling day to day media relations and highly sensitive issues. I also served as a policy advisor as well as a legal and political researcher to the Honourable Senator Claude Carignan during his term as Leader of the Government in the Senate.

At Queen’s Park

During my time at Queen’s Park, I headed Francophone Affairs for Minister Mulroney including reaching a deal with the Government of Canada for the joint financing of a French Language University in Toronto, helping develop the framework for an upcoming Francophone Economic Development Plan, and led the preparations for the modernization of the upcoming French Language Services Act.

Highlights

Meeting the Honourable Stephen Harper, former Prime Minister of Canada
  • Director, Francophone Affairs for the Minister of Francophone Affairs in Ontario
  • Communications Advisor to the Leader of Her Majesty’s Loyal Opposition
  • Policy Advisor and Researcher to the Leader of the Government in the Senate
  • Press Secretary to the President of the Treasury Board
  • Special Advisor for Quebec to the Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages
  • Quebec Advisor and Organizer for Erin O’Toole in the 2017 Leadership race
  • Candidate, 2011 Federal Election and the 2008 Quebec Election
  • Advisor for the following federal campaigns:
    • Westmount-Ville-Marie (2006 and 2008)
    • Pierrefonds-Dollard (2008)
    • Notre-Dame-de-Grâce-Westmount and Shefford (2015)

Show Your Support

I greatly appreciate your messages of support!

Passionné.
Qualifié.
Loyal.

Élisez Matthew Conway pour l’Exécutif national


Mon but est simple.

Message destiné aux membres du Parti conservateur du Canada – Équipe Québec et les délégués qui voteront pour nos trois (3) représentants au sein de l’Exécutif national.

Que ce soit en tant que militant et bénévole, en tant que “staffer” pendant 10 ans ou en tant que candidat en 2011, j’ai toujours eu notre parti à cœur.

Même si j’ai pris ma retraite en tant que “staffer” pour des raisons familiales, j’ai toujours la passion pour notre cause et notre chef.

Moi et ma fille, Gillianne

C’est dans cette optique que je suis candidat pour un des trois (3) postes pour le Québec au sein de l’Exécutif national. Je veux continuer de contribuer à notre cause, mettre ce que j’ai acquis comme connaissances à travers les années à votre service et au service de notre cause.

Mon but est simple : De représenter vigoureusement les membres et les intérêts du Québec aux instances du parti et de travailler avec l’équipe du Québec afin d’envoyer plus de candidats et de candidates extraordinaires à la Chambre des communes après la prochaine campagne sous le leadership du prochain Premier ministre du Canada, Erin O’Toole.

Nous aimerons tous élire 78 député(e)s au Québec. Peut-être un jour, mais à court terme, nos chances d’agrandir l’équipe du Québec à Ottawa passe par le 418, le 819 et le 450. Étant ancien candidat dans le 514, j’aurai toujours un brin d’espoir pour Montréal 😉

Nos associations sont importantes afin d’appuyer nos candidats et nos candidates. Je vous promets d’être votre voix aux instances du parti. Sans nos membres et nos bénévoles, il n’y a pas de parti. Peu importe où vous êtes au Québec, je serai votre voix.

Ceux qui me connaissent savent que je suis un passionné et un travaillant pour notre cause.

Pour ceux qui ne me connaissent pas :

Oui mon nom est Matthew Conway et oui c’est un prénom et un nom anglais. Je suis fier de mes racines. Je suis francophone. Ça fait plusieurs siècles que la famille de ma mère, les Landreville et les Limoges sont au Québec. Je suis également fier de mes racines irlandaises et britanniques.

Mes études ont été en français (incluant l’université) sauf le CÉGEP (j’avais le goût d’un défi). Le français est ma langue maternelle. C’est seulement vers l’âge de 5-6 ans que j’ai commencé à parler en phrases complètes en anglais. Un gros accent pendant plusieurs années.

Je suis bilingue. J’ai étudié et travaillé dans les deux langues.

Tout ça pour dire que peu importe votre nom, vos racines ou votre circonscription, je serai là pour vous.

J’espère pouvoir compter sur votre appui lors de notre congrès virtuel du 18 au 20 mars.

Entre temps, au plaisir de discuter avec vous !

Appuis

« C’est un gars d’équipe et il a le parti tatoué sur le coeur. »

Sénateur Claude Carignan, C.P.
Sénateur Claude Carignan, C.P.

« C’est avec un immense plaisir que j’appuie la candidature de Matthew Conway au poste de conseiller à l’exécutif national du Parti Conservateur du Canada. Je connais Matthew depuis plusieurs années et j’ai même eu l’occasion de l’engager à titre de conseiller politique et recherchiste alors que j’étais leader du gouvernement au Sénat.

D’une grande efficacité doublée d’une vive intelligence, Matthew est une personne très loyale sur qui on peut compter en toute confiance. C’est un gars d’équipe et il a le parti tatoué sur le coeur. »

— Sénateur Claude Carignan, C.P.


« Il sera un excellent membre de l’exécutif national. »

Pierre Paul-Hus, député, Charlesbourg-Haute-Saint-Charles
Pierre Paul-Hus, député, Charlesbourg-Haute-Saint-Charles

« Je connais Matthew depuis une dizaine d’années et nous avons eu l’honneur d’être candidat ensemble à l’élection générale de 2011. Matthew est un homme engagé avec notre parti.

Il a touché à plusieurs facettes des opérations politiques en ayant aussi servi comme conseiller politique pour le bureau du chef des Conservateurs du Canada où il a su se démarquer par ses conseils. Il sera un excellent membre de l’exécutif national. »

— Pierre Paul-Hus, député, Charlesbourg-Haute-Saint-Charles


« Je supporte Matthew avec grand intérêt. »

Bernard Généreux, député, Montmagny-L’Islet-Kamouraska-Rivière-du-Loup
Bernard Généreux, député, Montmagny-L’Islet-Kamouraska-Rivière-du-Loup

« Connaissant Matthew depuis de nombreuses années et ayant collaboré avec lui quand il était sur la colline, il ne fait aucun doute dans mon esprit qu’il saura s’affranchir de ses responsabilités avec rigueur et engagement.

Je le supporte avec grand intérêt pour la grande famille conservatrice du Canada et celle du Québec qu’il représentera fièrement. »

— Bernard Généreux, député, Montmagny-L’Islet-Kamouraska-Rivière-du-Loup


« Je suis fière et heureuse d’apporter mon appui à Matthew au poste de conseiller à l’exécutif national. »

Patricia Morrissette, Candidate, Rivière-du-Nord
Patricia Morrissette, Candidate, Rivière-du-Nord

« J’ai eu le plaisir de découvrir Matthew lors de la course à la chefferie. Il est un gars engagé et impliqué depuis fort longtemps auprès de notre parti qu’il connaît très bien. Il a les intérêts du parti à cœur. Il est généreux de son temps et toujours disponible. C’est un chic type! Un homme de tête et de coeur!

Il sera un grand apport pour l’exécutif national. Il est déterminé et fonceur. Des qualités essentielles pour notre parti. »

— Patricia Morrissette, Candidate, Rivière-du-Nord


« Je sais qu’il incarne les vrais principes conservateurs. »

Sénateur Leo Housakos
Sénateur Leo Housakos

« Je connais Matthew depuis plus de 15 ans et je sais qu’il incarne les vrais principes conservateurs. Fier Québécois et Canadien, Matthew a servi notre pays, notre province et notre mouvement avec brio, à plusieurs titres.

Je suis fier d’appuyer sa candidature pour qu’il puisse continuer ce service et pour qu’il représente le Québec comme membre de l’exécutif national. »

Sénateur Leo Housakos


« Nous serons chanceux de compter sur l’apport de Matthew à notre parti. »

Jean-Martin Masse
Jean-Martin Masse, Président de l’ACÉ conservatrice de Joliette et notre candidat dans Joliette en 2019

« Matthew et moi avons été collègues pendant quelques années. Je suis heureux de lui apporter mon support pour un poste à l’exécutif national du Parti Conservateur du Canada. Matthew est un fier Conservateur et un fier Québécois. Il ne compte pas ses heures, et saura apporter énergie et créativité à notre exécutif national.

Je suis certain qu’il représentera résolument les intérêts des membres québécois, tout en tissant les alliances nécessaires avec ses collègues. Nous serons chanceux de compter sur l’apport de Matthew à notre parti. »

— Jean-Martin Masse, Président de l’ACÉ conservatrice de Joliette et notre candidat dans Joliette en 2019

À propos de Matthew

Implication politique

Originaire de Montréal et y résidant actuellement, je suis parfaitement bilingue (français et anglais), le français étant ma langue maternelle. J’ai également été très actif dans la politique québécoise au sein de l’Action démocratique du Québec (ADQ) en plus de mon implication depuis 2004 comme militant et bénévole au Parti conservateur du Canada.

Distinctions universitaires

J’ai un baccalauréat en droit de l’Université du Québec à Montréal (UQÀM) ainsi qu’un diplôme en techniques juridiques du Collège O’Sullivan de Montréal, où j’ai reçu la Médaille académique du Gouverneur général pour l’excellence académique en 2005.

10 ans comme «  staffer »

Pendant mes 10 ans comme « staffer », j’ai notamment été conseiller auprès de plusieurs ministres, dont l’honorable Caroline Mulroney, l’honorable Tony Clement, l’honorable James Moore, l’honorable Jean-Pierre Blackburn et l’honorable sénateur Claude Carignan.

Années à Ottawa

Pendant mes années à Ottawa, j’ai été l’attaché de presse du président du Conseil du Trésor, Tony Clement, chargé des relations quotidiennes avec les médias et des questions très sensibles. J’ai également été conseiller ainsi que chercheur juridique et politique auprès de l’honorable sénateur Claude Carignan pendant son mandat de leader du gouvernement au Sénat.

Séjour à Queen’s Park

Pendant mon séjour à Queen’s Park, j’ai dirigé les Affaires francophones pour la ministre Mulroney, notamment en concluant un accord avec le Gouvernement du Canada pour le financement conjoint d’une université de langue française à Toronto, en aidant à élaborer le cadre d’un plan de développement économique francophone et en dirigeant les préparatifs pour la modernisation de la prochaine loi sur les services en français.

Faits marquants

Rencontre avec l’honorable Stephen Harper, ancien Premier ministre du Canada
  • Directeur des affaires francophones pour le ministre des affaires francophones de l’Ontario
  • Conseiller en communication auprès du chef de l’Opposition officielle à Ottawa
  • Conseiller politique et chercheur auprès du leader du gouvernement au Sénat
  • Attaché de presse du Président du Conseil du Trésor
  • Conseiller spécial pour le Québec au ministre du Patrimoine canadien et aux langues officielles
  • Conseiller et organisateur au Québec pour Erin O’Toole dans la campagne à la chefferie de 2017
  • Candidat aux élections fédérales de 2011 et à l’élection de 2008 au Québec
  • Conseiller dans les campagnes fédérales :
    • de 2004 et 2006 dans Westmount-Ville-Marie
    • en 2008 dans Pierrefonds-Dollard et
    • en 2015 dans Notre-Dame-de-Grâce-Westmount et dans Shefford

Exprimez votre appui

J’apprécie énormément vos messages de soutien!